Be Cool

Yesterday I went out and bought a men’s health magazine. I haven’t done that for a long time because no matter how bored I’ve been, I’ve never been able to justify spending $4.50 on what amounts to a bunch of advertisements.

However, boredom reached a new level of extreme causing me to succumb to the allure of magazine purchasing (that, and Widmer’s variety 12 pack… Oregon has the best microbreweries in the country!). As I was flipping through the pages, I noticed an article titled “Animal magnetism made easy.” Being someone who is fascinated by “natural” elements, especially those concerning human nature, I ripped through the article. It turned out to have less to do with “Animal Magnetism” as it did “being cool.”

By Animal Magnetism, the editors at MH weren’t talking so much about natural attraction; instead, they were providing insight into how to act to create that “natural attraction” between men and women. The first paragraph in the article was, by far, the most profound. I’ve never heard Men’s Health claim it is ok to not be good looking as long as you are sure of yourself, indifferent to what others think, generous,and have a general positive attitude. While I was recovering from my shock that MH just printed what I thought they would never print, I realized how true it was.

Every time I’ve gone to a party/social gathering and was indifferent to what anyone else, especially the women present, thought about me, I’ve always found myself engaged in conversation (and if I wasn’t so picky, despite how rare these occurrences are, I’d likely have a girlfriend).

But for every time I’ve played it “cool,” there are at least 10 times I’ve done exactly the opposite. Everytime I’ve payed any sort of attention to what others were saying or thinking about me, everytime I’ve approached a girl I like and have been nervous about what I should say, or if I looked good, or if some superficial part of me wasn’t perfect, I’ve fallen flat on my face.

The article has fascinated me. I wish I could repost it without being afraid the original author or MH will sue the everloving shyte outta me, but I think the concepts of “coolness” speak for themselves. The ones that don’t are crutches for people who don’t exactly get the first ones right.

Leave a Reply

