Why This Blog Will Never Be Popular

I’ve been doing some blogging for the International Student Association and blogging about PR for my class [Stop the (Word)Press], making the total number of blogs I have to keep running at 3. So far, the ISA blog has been insanely successful (during one day, received 140+ hits) and I can imagine the one for class being just as popular. Bryan’s Sophia, however, will never reach that level of popularity. Here’s why:

  1. Focused Content: I blog about anything and everything on this blog; for the ISA blog and Stop the (Word)Press, the content is subject specific. This is a blog more or less about catharsis while the other two blogs are about reaching an audience.
  2. Narrow Audience: The only people who have a vested interest in reading this blog are my friends and people who are interested in common day-to-day occurrences. ISA’s Blog, in comparison, has a wider audience as any International Student at the University of Oregon, any person involved in ISA or any ISA Alumni is a target for the ISA Blog. Stop the (Word)Press has the potential to reach an even larger audience as anyone in the Public Relations market may be interested in my blog.
  3. Lack of Consistent Updates: It’s impossible to generate a Pavlovian response with your readers if you don’t update frequently. Check out The Economist’s View. The author posts at least four times a day, even if it’s just a small comment on a news story. Bryan’s Sophia, however, is on no sort of update schedule because I only update it when I feel like I need to update it.

Anyway, I hope you guys noticed in the title how I never mentioned that Bryan’s Sophia wouldn’t be successful. In fact, it is much easier for this blog to be successful than my other two because my only criteria for success is personal satisfaction. For ISA and Stop The (Word)Press, I have to generate content that my readers are interested in seeing.

2 thoughts on “Why This Blog Will Never Be Popular

  1. This is funny. Way to apply what you read for class (or maybe didn’t but just know because you’re already a new media ninja) to this post. It makes you look good and makes fun of yourself at the same time.

  2. Hey,

    You have no idea how bad I wanted to post this in my blog for class! I really posted it because I’m very interested in blogging and attracting attention. For the longest time, I could never find out why people didn’t want to link to my blog, but after having read on the subject for the last couple of months, it’s more than obvious. And to be honest, I’m happy with the direction of Bryan’s Sophia, maybe because it doesn’t have any direction at all.

Leave a Reply

