Vancouver and Beyond

I want to move to Vancouver.

What an amazing city! Between the clean metropolitan atmosphere, the amazing parks and delicious food, I really couldn’t ask for anything more from a big city.

A view of downtown from across the chanel.

A view of downtown from across the chanel.

In the three says that I stayed, my friends and I ate more food and drank more micro-brews and cocktails than I could count. We hiked up a mountain that reminded me of my time as a firefighter. We walked around the immaculately clean downtown area and ate some of the most delicious Thai and Chinese food that I’ve ever tasted.

Vancouver is also one hell of a place to get a drink. Every bar we visited had a distinct atmosphere, from the Irish pub to the dark and club-like (and unfortunately empty) lounge. The prices were pretty decent and the waiters weren’t too terrible.

My first Martini in Vancouver. This place was right across from the hotel.

The second I came back, I started looking for job opportunities in Vancouver. Given the choice, I think I would pick Vancouver over San Fransisco as the place I want to live the most.

However, I can’t talk about this trip without mentioning our two day host in Seattle. One of my friend’s families generously offered to host us for two nights in Seattle while we checked out the city. His parents and grandparents epitomized hospitable while we stayed with them. They prepared food for us and made us feel almost as if we were home away from home. The father even took us on a tour of the Starbucks Headquarters, an amazing experience that I will never forget! They are an amazing family and I can’t wait for them to come to Eugene so we can meet up and take them out to/prepare dinner for them.

Starbucks Headquarters. Cameras were not allowed on the inside.

Starbucks Headquarters. Cameras were not allowed on the inside.

One thought on “Vancouver and Beyond

Leave a Reply

