Dear Tweeters (AKA, why I’m not following you)

Dear Followers,

First of all, thank you for following me. I am flattered that you think what I have to say is important enough to appear on your twitter feed.

Second, please don’t be offended if I don’t follow you. I am following 103 people right now, and that’s a lot of tweets to keep track of. Some people tweet 10 times an hour at sporadic periods, and I usually only follow those people because I like what they are tweeting about. In fact, there are some days where I just look for the tweets from my personal friends and ignore what everyone else is saying. No offense, but I can only read so much about new social media trends and PR strategies.

I do read through the tweets of everyone who follows me when I get a notification that someone else is following me. I check to see if what you are tweeting about is of interest to me. In short, I evaluate every person who follows me to see if I want to follow back.

It’s not too difficult to find out what interests me if you search around the internet  (I’m a PR student [but I’m already following a lot of pros already], a fan of video games and studying the Japanese language, hope this helps), and this is reflected in who I follow.

I usually follow people that my friends suggest I follow (such as @bethevans, who is a former co-worker and a pro), so going through one of them is a good way to get me to follow you. If you message me on Twitter or leave a comment on my blog, I’ll probably wind up following you back.

So please understand when I decide not to follow you back. My twitter stream is cluttered as it is, and finding time to read all of it can be difficult.

Thanks for understanding,

Bryan

PS: If you’re doing RtK and I’m not following you, message me and I’ll fix that.

5 thoughts on “Dear Tweeters (AKA, why I’m not following you)

  1. Thanks for the nod, Bryan. Have you read the Mashable post on reasons not to follow back on Twitter? I think it sums it up pretty well.

    I never follow back people who I don’t know and who have no bio or URL. Many of these people never send me a reply or message before following me, either. It seems like common sense not to talk to someone, online or in person, when you have no way of telling who they are.

    Like you, sometimes I don’t follow people who have URLs and seem totally reasonable just because their tweets don’t correspond with my interests.

  2. I cannot believe how many people don’t put a little more into their twitter profile, unless they are spammers.

    The way I look at it is if they want to follow my tweets, that’s ok. But they shouldn’t expect me to follow them back unless they meet one of the above criteria.

  3. Pingback: My thoughts on #followfriday « Bryan’s Sophia

  4. Pingback: 2 New Followers, wtf? « Bryan’s Sophia

  5. Pingback: Why I’m following THEM | Last Days

Leave a Reply

