So THAT’S how you do a group project

Today, my PR Campaigns team members Amanda Ip, Gretchen Brandtjen, Melissa Erb and I were working on our public relations plan. We were sitting around a round table in the Dunaway Center in Allen Hall (it’s an excellent collaboration room for journalism students at the University of Oregon) staring at our laptops and repeating what we had come up with out loud. I’m not sure about them, but I have a hard time remembering the complexities of a PR plan when it is said out loud.

But that all changed when we started using Google Docs. I’ve used it to back up my documents, but this was the first time I’ve used it to collaborate instantaneously with my teammates. I was able to see changes the second that my teammates around me made them. It made collaboration easy, and for once, I felt like I was on the same page as anyone else.

Anybody else can do this; all you have to do is have a google docs account, create a new document, then share that document with other people by typing in their email address. I have had problems sharing the document with other users who did not have GMail accounts, so if someone has any feedback on how to fix that, it would be helpful.

One thought on “So THAT’S how you do a group project

  1. You have to make an account, but it’s simple.
    You can make a Google account with any e-mail address. Add addresses to the “Share” list. They will be sent to the inbox and a corresponding link will tae you to the Google doc. However, not until an individual makes the Google account will the documents be alterable. It’s only a 1.5 minute process. You have access to everything except for GMail, itself. I’m sorry this doesn’t help much.

    You can delete this comment after reading it. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

