Striking out on my own

For some reason, I was thinking about Community College. I don’t know why, but I’d been contemplating my own drive and discipline, mostly doubting its integrity. So, I began thinking about times where my integrity was at its height. I think community college was one of those times.

Actually, college was something that was never forced upon me. In high school, I was, of course, pressured to do well, but it wasn’t so I could go to college. It was mostly because I wasn’t really doing anything else and my parents felt I needed to do well in whatever I was doing. So when it came time to go to college, I applied to a few schools but decided not to go to any of them because I wasn’t really interested. But a couple of things happened to make me regret my decision.

First of all, my girlfriend at the time broke up with me, and I felt pretty bad about that. Second of all, the job I had at the time was pretty monotonous, and it made me feel like I was going nowhere in life. So, in order to cope with my feelings, I decided to go to college on the weekdays and work on the weekends. Fortunately, I was able to do this because I was still living with my parents at the time.

So I enrolled at the local community college and started working towards a transfer degree. I payed for most everything (Mom and Dad helped out with tuition a couple of times), including gas to and from school. I don’t think Mom and Dad asked too much about my grades. They pretty much just let me do my own thing. They were supportive, of course, bu they didn’t overly involve themselves.

During that time, I pulled nearly perfect grades and facilitated a transfer to my state university, pretty much by myself. And through that, my feelings about my life at that time were transformed into something a little more positive. I definitely felt more ambitious and in control of my life.

Looking back, now having graduated with a degree in journalism, I am proud that no one forced me to take those first few steps towards becoming more independent. I’m proud that I was, in a way, able to do it on my own.

Leave a Reply

