I don’t know what to call this either

I have a friend who lives in a completely different world than I do, that experiences things I have never experienced, who has swapped life stories with me…

But she’s someone I’ve never met in real life.

First of all, I want to say that I rarely talk to people online that I have not met in real life. I met this person on a chat on meebo.com (a site that randomly pairs you with another chat “buddy”). My good friend and I were in the middle of trolling the site, but I grew tired of it, so I decided to be genuine for one conversation.

That one conversation turned out to be another guy doing the same thing as we were.

The next person, however, was as genuine as I wanted to be. I don’t know why I decided to keep chatting with her, but by the end of the night, we were exchanging stories about each other.

Over the course of the past two years, we’ve chatted over facebook. We’re infrequent and random with each other, but I enjoy giving her an update on what’s going on with my life, and vice versa. It’s strange, yet oddly familiar, to get an update on someone’s life whom you’ve never met. It’s like following a real life drama.

Anyway, I may never meet this person in real life, but I’m thankful that I have the opportunity to have this sort of special connection with someone.

Leave a Reply

