Hunger and Perspective

Two conflicting ideologies are battling for prominence in my life. To me, they epitomize “yin” and “yang” in that I need a healthy balance of both.

Staying hungry

I’m at a  good spot in my career. I feel like I’m at a great company doing an internship that’s relevant to the field I want to break into. But being a PR pro isn’t all I want. I feel like there are three areas in my life I want to develop:

1. Physical – I want to be in the best shape of my life this time next year. I’ve been off-and-on with my diet in terms of what I eat and my daily calorie intake, but I feel like I can hit my goals 100 percent of the time if I try. On top of that, I want to be stronger.. a lot stronger than how I am. It’s always been a goal of mine, but I feel like I finally have the tools to make the physical transformation I want to make.

2. Mental/Intellectual – Reading outside of work is something I need to do more of. I read the news daily, of course, and I am pretty involved in keeping up on tech, but I need to branch out. This isn’t a tangible goal I can achieve.. just something I see myself working towards on a daily basis.

A tangible mental goal that I have, however, is keeping up on my Japanese study. I’ve been pretty consistent with Hesig’s RTK reviews, but I could probably do better if I put more effort into it. I want to be through the Kanji in a little more than a month.

Keeping things in perspective

Setting life goals and achieving them is good. But progress for progress’ sake is, I feel, destructive. It would be amazing to make president of a global PR firm one day, but I feel there needs to be a rhyme behind the reason. From my prospective, being 70 and president with no wife, kids or family would be a waste in my mind. And it would be no good to  be in the best shape of my life if I wasn’t working towards being in a spot in life I wanted to live in. I think it’s important to focus on making advancements in my career, but I should always keep it in perspective and not let progress get in the way of being in a good spot in life.

2 thoughts on “Hunger and Perspective

  1. Unlike most folk you are exercising your human ability to take a step back and look at the big picture – with a wry smile. Nagel that bagel 🙂

Leave a Reply

