How to Start Over [Career]

Your career is in shambles. You have no money. You’re living with your parents. Where do you go?

Step 1: Make a plan

Head to a coffee shop and write out the steps you need to take to be successful. Too broke for a coffee shop? Brew a pot at home and write out how to get where you want to go. You need a plan for when depression hits. Plus, a plan will make you feel a lot better.

Step 2: Perform Step 1 of your plan

It sounds simple, right? But it’s strange how procrastination, depression or other external factors can get in the way of starting over. Build up your courage, psyche yourself up, kick yourself out the front door; whatever you have to do, make sure you do perform the first action item on your plan. You’ll be surprised the amount of confidence you gain from making the first step.

Step 3: Create a side-goal

Odds are that your plan will take some time to come to fruition. So set a side goal that will fill the time between steps. Finish a book, set a fitness goal, or make it a priority to finish your spring cleaning. Don’t let yourself mope about where you’re not, and don’t let yourself daydream about the future too much.

On a more personal note, this past month has been extremely difficult for me. I started off in Seattle, but due to some unforeseen unfortunate circumstances, I had to move back to Portland, and now I’m back in Klamath Falls. I had to turn down a really good job offer because I could no longer afford to live in the city where the job was. Turning down that offer really took the wind out of my sails, and there are days where I feel like I’ll never accomplish my goals. But I know, from an objective standpoint deprived of any subjective perspective, that it’s false to say I can’t do what I want to do without exhausting every possibility. I know I’m good enough to get to where I want to go; it’s just difficult sometimes to see how I’m going to get where I want to go.

Leave a Reply

